Minuwangoda ෴ මිනුවන්ගොඩ

Minuwangoda (Sinhala: මිනුවන්ගොඩ, Tamil: மினுவந்கொட) is a town in Gampaha district, governed by an Urban Council, situated near Negombo, Western Province of Sri Lanka. It is located 15 kilometres (9.3 mi) east of Negombo and 35 kilometres (22 mi) north east of Colombo. It is an important junction town, connecting the Negombo to Kandy road (via Veyangoda and Nittambuwa) with the A1/A6 main road from Colombo to Kurunegala. The main bus route 5 from Colombo to Kurunegala passes through the town. The town is also situated near the Bandaranaike International Airport, on the way to Negombo.

About Gampaha District

Gampaha District is one of the 25 Districts of Sri Lanka, the second level administrative division of the country. It is the second most populous district of Sri Lanka after Colombo District. The district is administered by a District Secretariat headed by a District Secretary appointed by the central government of Sri Lanka. The capital of the district is the town of Gampaha. Negombo however is the largest city and the commercial hub of Gampaha district. The district was carved out of the northern part of Colombo District in September 1978.

About Western Province

The most densely populated province of Sri Lanka, the Western Province which is 3,593 km2 in extent is home to the country’s legislative capital Sri Jayewardenepura. It is also home to the country’s commercial hub, Colombo.

Almost all the premier educational institutions in the island are located in the western province. Universities in the province include the University of Colombo, the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, the University of Kelaniya, the Open University of Sri Lanka, the Sir John Kotelawala Defence University, the University of Moratuwa and the Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology. The Western Province also has the largest amount of schools in the country. The western province consists of three districts: Colombo, Gampaha, and Kalutara.

【Text by Lakpura™. Images by Google, copyright(s) reserved by original authors.】